Loading Downloads
3Episodes
Category: Society & Culture

An amazing group of talented queer women and non-binary folk who are driven to make the world a better, happier and more peaceful place via the magic of radio. fridaynightlipservice@gmail.com

February 22, 2016

Podcast Special: Remembering Gaywaves

Have we got a special special for you this time! In November 2015, the National Film and Sound Archives built an expansive archive of classic queer radio programme Gaywaves. To mark the occasion they held an event celebrating the past and future of queer radio, with guests from classic Gaywaves era, Canberra's Gay Wavelength and Friday Night Lip Service.

 
A look at queer radio and history covering almost forty years. Listen in and find out how things have changed - and stayed the same - in world of LGTBIAQ community radio.
 
Episode links:
 
2SER 107.3:  http://www.2ser.com
The National Film & Sound Archive:  http://www.nfsa.gov.au
 
Recorded: 25 November 2015
00:0000:00
February 12, 2016

#44 The Danish Girl (Darling Lili)

On Friday Night Lip Service this week, the team talk about recent controversial tale of love, art, gender and history The Danish Girl.

 
The-Danish-Girl-Poster-002.jpg
 
Tap the thoughts of Daria, Izzy, Kat and Lisa by playing this episode and listening in on their round-table about the film. Then you can join the discussion yourself by contacting us.
 
Episode links: 
 
The Danish Girl Official Site at Focus Features:  http://www.focusfeatures.com/the_danish_girl
Reel to Real: The Danish Girl (2015) at History vs Hollywood:  http://www.historyvshollywood.com/reelfaces/danish-girl/
 
First broadcast: 12 February 2016
00:0000:00
February 6, 2016

#43 Women in Music and Rock (Rock in This Pocket)

Tune in to listen to Nida, Nicky, and special guests Chiara and Emma talk about the recent Girls Rock! Camp, female rockers, queer music and empowering spaces!

 
Episode links:
 
Girls Rock! Australia:  http://www.girlsrockaustralia.com
Pocket Fox at BandCamp:  https://pocketfox.bandcamp.com
Pocket Fox's launch of The Brightest Light:  https://www.facebook.com/events/1041245852614132/
Dick Diver at BandCamp:  https://dickdiver.bandcamp.com
Passive Smoke on Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/passive.smoke/
Finger Your Friends on Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/fingeryourfriends/
Wives, Passive Smoke and others at BandCamp:  https://cinnamonrecords.bandcamp.com
 
First broadcast: 5 February 2016
00:0000:00
February 1, 2016

#42 Shacking Up (The Fine Art of Living in Sin)

Q: What does a lesbian bring to a first date?
A: A U-Haul van!

 

Ever head this joke and thought, What's that all about...why is it funny? Or  do you think that the lesbian U-Haul stereotype is so you, or total crap? 

 

Tune into this Friday Night Lip Service right now to hear Yen and Gem unravel this queer women stereotype (and talk a little bit too much about their own relationship). (Really, it's not cute anymore.) 

 

Episode links:

 

U-Haul Australia:  https://www.trailerrentals.com.au

U-Haul Lesbian at Wikipedia:  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/U-Haul_lesbian

Definition of a partner (including de facto) at the Department of Human Services:  http://www.humanservices.gov.au/customer/enablers/definition-of-a-partner

15 Things Couples Should Do Before Moving In Together at The Huffington Post:  http://www.huffingtonpost.com/wendy-atterberry/15-things-couples-should-_b_6061834.html

 

'U-Haul'® is a registered trademark of U-Haul International, Inc, who are unaffiliated with this programme. However, they have in the past expressed their support of the queer community and awareness of their place in the culture. (https://twitter.com/UHaul_Cares/status/614875345519575040).

 

First broadcast: 29 January 2016

00:0000:00